Have you ever wanted to send pictures and videos that you would prefer not to have in the chat window of WhatsApp? If yes, then WhatsApp will soon add what you are looking for. After confirming the feature in a recent interview, WhatsApp has started giving beta testers the option to send disappearing photos and videos on Android. Whatsapp new feature is called “View Once”, and here’s how you can use it to send photos and videos that self-destruct once viewed in WhatsApp.
New Feature Send Disappearing Photos and Videos in WhatsApp (2021)
Before we get started, it’s worth mentioning that the “take a look” mode is only available to beta testers when writing this article. So, you might not see this feature on your device right away. However, we can expect WhatsApp to roll out this feature to all users in the coming weeks.
“View Once” Mode in WhatsApp Beta
View Once is a new feature of WhatsApp that lets users exchange images and videos privately. Media once sent using View Mode will disappear once the recipient has viewed it. Based on my testing, you can see that the recipient has opened the image, even if you have disabled read receipts. However, there are some precautions you should keep in mind before using this feature. Would you please take a look mode is not as private as one might assume?
Although the pictures or videos disappear after the recipient closes them, they can always take a screenshot. Also, WhatsApp will not notify you if the recipient takes a screenshot. WhatsApp openly acknowledges this limitation and clarifies in a pop-up when you use View Once Mode for the first time, indicating that the messaging giant is likely to implement a screenshot detection mechanism in the future. Not planning. So, if you are looking to send private pictures through this new feature, you are in a better position with other secure messaging apps or Snapchat.
Once you send an image or video in One View mode, you (the sender) cannot open it from the conversation page. However, if you send an image by mistake, you can delete the message for everyone before the recipient can open it.
Disappearing Messages Vs One Time Mode in WhatsApp
Now you must be thinking that WhatsApp already has an option to send missing messages. And yes, it does. So, what makes the new View Once feature different from disappearing messages? That is what we will explore in this section.
The primary difference between vanishing messages and a look at one is the duration. Messages sent through the disappearing message mode in WhatsApp will expire after 7 days. The photos and videos marked as View will disappear once the recipient has opened the media file. Another way that the new feature differs from disappearing messages is in its scope. Vanishing messages affect all text and media files in a conversation, while one-time viewing is limited to images and videos.
Also Read: How to Run Windows 98 on Android Phone
How to Send “View Once” Photos/ Videos in WhatsApp
Now that you Have got an idea of the new View Once feature and how it works, here’s how to use it in individual chats and groups
- Now First Open a WhatsApp chat and Pick an any image or video from our media picker UI, just like you usually do to send photos and videos in the messaging app.
- When you are on the page that where you write a caption before sending the photo or video, tap on the new Features “View Once” button present at the bottom right corner of the chat box. The icon will turn green once you have enabled it.
3. As mentioned earlier, you can’t see the image you sent in the chat window. Instead, you will see a text that says “Photo” and a clock icon next to it. Here’s how an image sent using View Once mode appears for the sender and recipient.
4. When the recipient opens the media file, the text “Photo” will automatically change to “Opened” to reflect the current status. This happens regardless of the read receipts privacy setting. I turned off read receipts on both devices and was able to see when the image was opened. You can long-press the “Opened” chat bubble and tap on the ‘i’ button to view the detailed message info of the photo/ video.
Send Self-Destructing Photos and Videos in WhatsApp
So, you use the new View Once feature to send expired photos and videos on WhatsApp. Since the feature doesn’t have a screenshot blocking or detection mechanism, I wouldn’t recommend using it for exchanging intimate images or videos.