NTPC Full Form: What is NTPC?: It is a company incorporated under the Companies Act 1956 and promoted by the Government of India. The headquarter of the company is located in New Delhi. The main business of NTPC is the generation of electricity and the sale of electricity to state-owned electricity distribution companies and state electricity boards in India.

The company also does consultancy and turnkey project contracts which include engineering, project management, construction management, and operation and management of power plants.

NTPC Full Form

NTPC Full Form- The NTPC full form is National Thermal Power Corporation Limited


NTPC Limited is the largest power producer in India in terms of installed capacity and power generation.

In 2016, NTPC was ranked 400th in the Forbes Global 2000 ranking of the world’s largest companies. The government of India holds a 62.28% stake in NTPC as of 31st December 2017. NTPC has two segments: Production and Other Business. His other occupations include consultancy, project management and supervision, oil and gas exploration, and coal mining.

The company has also participated in oil and gas exploration and coal mining activities. It is the largest power company in India with a power generation capacity of 53,651 MW.

It was established in 1975 by the Government of India, which holds 64.74% of the equity shares of this company as of 2016 (after the split of its stake in 2004, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2017).

Facts and History of NTPC

NTPC Ltd was incorporated as a Private Limited Company on 7th November 1975 with the name National Thermal Power Corporation Private Limited, on 30th September 1976, consequent to the notification issued by the Government, with the word ‘Private’ in the name of the Company. was removed. As a result of the notification issued by the Government of India, Government companies have been exempted from the use of the word ‘private’ in their names.

NTPC Full Form: What is NTPC?
  • In September 1977, the company acquired the first patch in Singrauli.
  • In the year 1978, the company took over the management of the Badarpur project. In addition, he commissioned the first 200MW unit in Singrauli. On December 25, 1981, the fifth and final unit of 210 MW at Badarpur Thermal Power Station was synchronized by NTPC, completing the 720 MW project.
  • In the year 1982, a transmission line based on High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) technology was commissioned for power transmission from Rihand to Delhi.
  • On 1 March 1983, the first 200 MW unit of the Cobra Super Thermal Power Project was commissioned.
  • In November 1983, he commissioned the first unit of 200 MW at Ramagudam.
  • On 30 September 1985, the company was converted from a private limited company to a public limited company. In the year 1986, they became one of the first PSUs to issue bonds in the debt market.
  • In the year 1992, the company acquired Feroze Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power Station (2x210MW) from Uttar Pradesh Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam, Uttar Pradesh. In addition, the transmission system owned by the company was transferred to Power Grid Corporation of India Limited in accordance with law by the Parliament of India.
  • In the year 1994, the Jhanor-Gandhar Thermal Station in Gujarat started the Liquid Waste Treatment Plant.
  • In the year 1995, the company was given Navratna status by the Government of India. In June 1995, the company took over the 460 MW Talcher Thermal Power Station from the Orissa State Electricity Board.
  • In the year 1998, he commissioned the first naphtha-based plant at Kayamkulam with a capacity of 350 MW. In the year 2000, he started construction of his first hydroelectric project of 800 MW capacity in Himachal Pradesh.
  • In the year 2002, the company incorporated three wholly-owned subsidiaries namely NTPC Electric Supply Company Ltd, NTPC Hydro Ltd, and NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam Ltd.
  • He installed ESP (Electrostatic Precipitators) for Talcher Power Plant.
  • In October 2004, the company made its initial public offering (IPO) of 5.25% as a fresh issue and 5.25% for sale by the Government of India. Thus, the company became a listed company in November 2004, with the government holding 89.5% of the equity share capital.
  • On October 28, 2005, the company’s name was changed from National Thermal Power Corporation Ltd to NTPC Ltd to reflect the diversification of its business operations beyond thermal power generation, such as hydro, nuclear and renewable among others. Sources and undertakings of coal mining and oil exploration activities include energy to power generation.
  • In the year 2006, the installed capacity of 705 MW of Badarpur Thermal Power Station was transferred to the company.
  • In 2008, the company entered into a PSU with Asian Development Bank, GE Energy Financial Services, USA, Kyushu Electric Power Co Inc, Japan, and Brookfield Renewable Power Inc Canada to set up a joint venture company for renewable power generation. Private Limited Partnership MoU signed.
  • In December 2008, he incorporated a joint venture company namely National Power Exchange Ltd with NHPC Ltd, PFC Ltd, and TCS Ltd to operate the power exchange at the national level.
  • In the year 2009, the company entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) for the development of nuclear power in India.
  • The company acquired 44.6% of the paid-up capital in Kerala and Transformers & Electricals Kerala Limited for Rs 313.4 million from the Government of Kerala. The company signed a long-term fuel supply agreement with Coal India Limited for the supply of coal to NTPC power stations for a period of 20 years.
  • In the year 2010, the company entered into a joint venture agreement with Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited for setting up a nuclear power project with two nuclear reactor units, an additional nuclear power project subject to techno-economic feasibility.
  • They set up a monitoring center to fund their large capacity addition program. In addition, he commissioned the coal base unit 5 at National Capital Thermal Power Project, Dadri, Uttar Pradesh. With the commissioning of this unit, the company’s total installed capacity crossed 31,000 MW and became 31,134 MW.
  • The President, Government of India acting through the Ministry of Power, Government of India, through a public offer on further 412,273,220 equity shares, divided the holding of 5% in the company, and the stake reduced from 89.5% to 84.5% with effect from February 18 did.
  • On May 19, 2010, the company was accorded the prestigious status of ‘Maha Ratna’ by the Government of India.
  • In addition, the company was the official power partner of the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi.

Note: This post is only for informational purposes. Maybe Some data is changed by time or wrong. In this case, We are not responsible. So For better Knowledge of the NTPC. Please Visit the Government Official Websites.

Also Read: WhatsApp Will Soon Add Option for Nearby Businesses and Services


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here